Skip to Main Content

Chapter Topics ~ Spring 2019


Hurricane Michael Disaster Relief- Florida Chapter of the Association for College and Research Libraries (FACRL)

Submitted by: Jaime M. Goldman, FACRL Communications Manager

On October 10, 2018, Hurricane Michael made landfall in the Florida Panhandle as a catastrophic Category 5 hurricane. This was the first storm to make landfall as a Category 5 hurricane in the United States since Hurricane Andrew in 1992. The devastation along the panhandle inspired many library organizations throughout Florida to sponsor disaster donation drives for the libraries and staff affected by this storm. FACRL raised $500 for each of the academic libraries affected by Hurricane Michael: Florida State University - Panama City, Gulf Coast State College, and Chipola College. The hope was that these donations would be of aid to the libraries and their staff affected by this storm as they rebuild after last year's devastation. The responses we received reminded us that the road to recovery after a natural disaster is long and our colleagues not only appreciated the financial support but also knew that they were not forgotten during this difficult time.

“I am so grateful to the FACRL for the disaster donation you have provided to help offset some of the costs we face after Hurricane Michael. The scope of the devastation has made the rebuilding process slow, and over six months later there are many of us who are still displaced from our homes. Please know that your gift is so much more than just financial assistance; it has lifted our spirits as well.”

One recipient stated that “when it seems at times as though the rest of the world has forgotten the survivors of this hurricane, it is reassuring to know that FACRL members understand our long road back.” This is a timely reminder that those affected by natural disasters or other devastating events often feel alone and forgotten when the news coverage ends and recovery continues.

For more information, please contact FACRL.

Hurricane Michael Disaster Relief Funds for Libraries and Library Staff.  Thank you FACRL Members.  Together we raised enough funds to donate $500 to each of the academic libraries affected by Hurricane Michael.

The Association of College and Research Libraries New England Chapter has added two new special interest groups!

by Vicki Gruzynski

The New England Education and Curriculum Librarians Interest Group (NEECLIG) serves the following purpose:

  • To provide the first Northeast network for education and curriculum librarians who are serving academic teacher education programs. This network will improve communication and collaboration between specialized librarians in the region.

  • To organize bi-annual meetings of members from both public and private institutions on topics relevant to librarian support of Education programs.

  • To develop and facilitate professional development opportunities for members.

  • To build collaborative relationships with other ACRL SIGs and Curriculum Collection Groups.

The Research Data Management Special Interest Group (RDMSIG) sponsors community events that focus on collaboration, communication, and camaraderie around trends in data management. Its statement of purpose is as follows:

  • Support communities of both practicing research data management professionals and professionals with an interest in research data management (a “Community of Practice” and a “Community of Interest”). This is accomplished by providing time to discuss current topics, trends, and issues with peers, and through education on a variety of topics, including good data management practices, current funder standards, and tools to streamline data manipulation or analysis.

  • Support our communities by being responsive to the evolving needs of data management professionals.

  • Organize two to three professional development events each year with a focus on education and information sharing.

  • Work collaboratively with other SIGs towards shared goals and initiatives.


Spring 2019

Chapters Council Roster

Ed Rock




 Leslin Charles 



 Lisa Nickel 



Rachel M. Minkin 
​Past Chair


Ali Larson


 Ryan Gjerde
List Administrator


Cynthia Coulter
LibGuide Adminstrator


 Heather A. Dalal 
​ LibGuide Administrator 



 Megan Griffin 
 Staff Liaison 



 Kimberly Copenhaver 
​ Legislation Assembly